Bishop Kenny High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Anchor Club Of the Year

Congratulations to our Bishop Kenny Anchor Club for winning the highest award at the annual
Florida District Anchor Club Convention held in Kissimmee, Florida on March 4, 2017.
Bishop Kenny Anchor Club was awarded Anchor Club of the Year in the Florida District Anchor
Organization for overall participation and achievement. This award is a result of the time, talent,
and treasure of over sixty members who participated in school and community service events.
In addition to the overall award, Bishop Kenny Anchor Club applied and received awards within
two specific service categories designated by the Anchor Club Organization.
BK Anchors received second place for their No Texting and Driving Campaign in the category of Brain
Fitness and Health Safety. BK Anchors also earned second place for their monthly service of
cooking meals for children and families staying at the Ronald McDonald House in the category
of Anchor for Kids.

It should be noted that Anchor Club also participated in two large community events, including
the annual Buddy Walk sponsored by the National Down Syndrome Society and the Donna Fun
Run for breast cancer. Anchor Club also collected supplies for veterans and the care givers at
St. Catherine Laboure Manor as well as supplied treats to faculty and staff each month.
Moreover, seventeen Anchor Club members attended the annual convention to participate in
convention activities and compete for other awards. Bishop Kenny Anchor Club won second
place for the President's Banner and second place for their Lip Sync performance, showcasing
the Mardi Gras convention theme.
Special recognition goes to our President-elect, Carson Goodman, who was voted as Treasurer
for the Florida District Anchor Club. She not only represents Bishop Kenny, but also all other
Anchor Clubs in the state of Florida in this role.
None of these awards would be possible without the completion of the extensive written
applications. All eight Anchor Club officers worked to complete the required narrations for each
category and to provide the supporting documentation of each event through photographs and
social media. Special thanks to President, Cassie Orlando and President Elect, Carson
Goodman, for completing the additional application required for Anchor Club of the Year.
Bishop Kenny Anchor Club Officers include:
President - Cassie Orlando
President Elect - Carson Goodman
Secretary - Emma Jane Warren
Chaplain - Francheska Peralta
Convention Chair - Emilie Peralta
Service Chair - Elizabeth Cratem
Historian - Katherine Kanuit
Treasurer - Caroline Holloway
Led by Berny Bakkar and sponsored by Jessica Durbin, Blake Bachara, and Jennifer Whitford, the club thanks its teachers for organizing and chaperoning all service events throughout the year.
Finally, Bishop Kenny Anchor Club qualifies to compete in the International Anchor Club Convention             in Las Vegas this July!   Congratulations on a job well done!