Bishop Kenny High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Northeast Florida Regional Science and Engineering Fair 2019 Winners

The Science Department wishes to thank all 36 participants of this year’s Northeast Regional Science and Engineering Fair. The award ceremony was held at the Morocco Shrine Auditorium on February 12.  BK took over 15 Place Awards and 30 Special Awards with award winners in every category!  The students’ attention to detail and enthusiasm for scientific and engineering endeavors made this year’s fair a remarkable event!  

Thanks again to all our participating students!  Every ONE of you has made this year’s even an inspiring STEM experience!  Mrs. Schmitt, Science Chair Bishop Kenny


International Competition Team Members:

There are only 4 students selected from our Regional Fair to advance to the International Competition which will be held in Phoenix, AZ.  

  • Congratulations to Mary Alice Young for being awarded this great honor. 
  • Congratulations to Freshmen Izabelle Young, selected as the alternate member for the team.

NEFRSEF State Team Members:

Mailene Miranda

Lauren Massais

Lili England

Mary Alice Young

Antonio Valentino

Matthew Blaquiere

Syrus Bakkar

Izabelle Young

And as alternates

Alexa Smith 

And Hind Ossi 


Winners by Category:


Behavioral and Social Sciences:

Yousif Shakoury and Jose Gallo – A Special in Behavioral and Social Sciences

Mailene Miranda – 3rd Place in Biochemistry and a Special Award



Emily Citrano and Hope Pitman – 2nd Place in Botany 

Riley Salomone and Lauren Eichler – A Special Award in Chemistry

Lauren Massais and Lily England – 3rd Place in Chemistry and a Special Award


Computer Science:

Mary Alice Young – 1st Place in Computer Science and 6 Special Awards

Grant Reidy – A Special award in Computer Science



Antonio Valentino – 1st Place in Engineering and 3 Special Awards

Matthew Blaquiere and Syrus Bakkar – 2nd Place in Engineering and 5 Special Awards

Ethan Rowan and Jack Trent – A Special Award in Engineering

Gabriella Khazal – A Special award in Engineering



Madison Riscigno – 3rd Place in Environmental Sciences and 2 Special Awards

Christian Flores – 3rd Place in Environmental Science

Maggie McLauchlin  – Honorable Mention in Environmental Sciences


Medicine and Health:

Megan Klingaman – 2nd Place in Medicine & Health Sciences and 2 Special Awards

Frankie Alvarez – Honorable Mention in Medicine and Health

Mary Schmidt and Katherine White – 3rd Place in Medicine and Health and a Special Award



Hannah Miller and Nara-Lee Todd – 2nd Place in Microbiology and 2 Special Awards



Izabelle Young – 1st Place in Zoology and a Special award

Alexa Smith and Hind Ossi – 3rd Place in Zoology